2018 Final Oscar Predictions


Tomorrow night the 90th Oscar’s will take place with Jimmy Kimmel hosting once again. As this is my first year making my picks for the Oscar’s I will also be giving my dark horse candidates. So without beating around the bush here we go…

Best Picture


Winner: Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Who Can Possibly Win: The Shape of Water 


Best Director


Winner: Guillermo Del Toro (The Shape of Water)

Who Can Possibly Win: Christopher Nolan (Dunkirk)


Best Actor


Winner: Gary Oldman (Darkest Hour)

Who Can Possibly Win: Timothee Chalamet (Call Me by Your Name)


Best Actress


Winner: Frances McDormand (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri)

Who Can Possibly Win: Sally Hawkins (The Shape of Water) or Margot Robbie (I, Tonya)


Best Supporting Actor


Winner: Sam Rockwell (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri)

Who Can Possibly Win: Willem Dafoe (The Florida Project)


Best Supporting Actress


Winner: Allison Janney (I, Tonya)

Who Can Possibly Win: Mary J. Blige (Mudbound)


Best Animated Film


Winner: Coco (Lee Unkrich)

Who Can Possibly Win: The Breadwinner (Nora Twomey)


Best Original Screenplay

Lady Bird_web.jpg

Winner: Lady Bird (Greta Gerwig)

Who Can Possibly Win: The Big Sick (Emily V. Gordon & Kumail Nanjiani)



Best Adapted Screenplay


Winner: Molly’s Game (Aaron Sorkin)

Who Can Possibly Win: Logan (Scott Frank, James Mangold, Michael Green)


Best Cinematography


Winner: Blade Runner 2049 (Roger Deakins)

Who Can Possibly Win: The Shape of Water (Dan Laustsen)


Best Original Score


Winner: The Shape of Water (Alexandre Desplat)

Who Can Possibly Win: Dunkirk (Hans Zimmer)


Best Original Song


Winner: Remember Me (Coco, Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez)

Who Can Possibly Win: This Is Me (The Greatest Showman, Benj Pasek and Justin Paul)


Best Visual Effects


Winner: War for the Planets of the Apes (Joe Letteri, Daniel Barrett, Dan Lemmon and Joel Whist)

Who Can Possibly Win: Blade Runner 2049 (John Nelson, Gerd Nefzer, Paul Lambert and Richard R. Hoover)


Other Categories

Animated Short: Dear Basketball (Glen Keane and Kobe Bryant)

Live Action Short: Deklab Elementary (Reed Van Dyk)

Best Documentary Short Subject: Heroin(e) (Elaine McMillion Sheldon and Kerrin Sheldon)

Costume Design: Phantom Thread (Mark Bridges)

Foreign Language Film: A Fantastic Women (Country: Chile, Sebastian Lelio)

Documentary Feature: Faces Places (Agnes Varda, JR and Rosalie Varda)

Sound Editing: Dunkirk (Richard King and Alex Gibson)

Sound Mixing: Baby Driver (Julian Slater, Tim Cavagin and Mary H. Ellis)

Film Editing: Dunkirk (Lee Smith)

Makeup & Hair: Darkest Hour (Kazuhiro Tsuji, David Malinowski and Lucy Sibbick)

Production Design: The Shape of Water (Paul Denham Austerberry; Set Decoration: Shane Vieau and Jeffrey A. Melvin)






Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s